2004-02-28 | 4:19 p.m.

Dear boys,

I will never understand why you keep a perfectly good girl at arms length, while you're waiting for someone else.

Isn't the girl right in front of you good enough? Is there something she's missing? Is this your way of dealing with personal, emotional issues? Is there someone else out there, who is better, who is everything taunting you and teasing you, so you have to make the girl in front of you hang on like some thread from your faded out jeans?

Because, I'm pretty sure, that we don't do that. I'm pretty sure we like to take some time to look at what's in front of us without worrying about anyone else. I'm pretty sure we don't have some super long list of qualities we feel we need to check off each time we meet someone new. I'm pretty sure we girls don't dick around, holding you and cuddling with you and getting to know you, all the while really wishing we were somewhere else.

Or maybe it's just me.

Nevertheless, I'm sure if you knew how it felt to be that girl, you'd learn how to behave. If you knew how much it hurt to wonder if you're just something to do for right now or someone who matters, you'd alter your actions. If you knew how this felt, you'd either let go or hold on, but you wouldn't exist in some sort of limbo with the girl constantly guessing and wondering if she should just go find someone new or walk away.

If only you knew how it feels to be this girl. This magical limbo girl. This girl for right now. This almost good enough girl. If you knew how that felt, you'd do anything to stop, because a heart can take only so much.

I know you have a heart. I've laid my head on your chest and listened to it beating. Is it so different from mine?

-s1

</>